Indonesia DVB-T2


Indonesia DVB-T2

Indonesia DVB-T2

Adoption to begin in 2012 and finish by end of 2018 or more (depends on 2018 situation later)

Indonesian digital television is the replacement of Indonesian analogue TV and runs in digital video broadcasting terrestrial (DVB-T2)

Indonesia DVB-T2

Indonesia DVB-T2 frequency

Digital System: 478 MHz to 694 MHz only, from 694 MHz to 806 MHz will be used for mobile broadband system.

Indonesia DVB-T2 Regulations:

  • Digital Broadcast through Terrestrial System is served by LPP TVRI, LPP Lokal, LPS and LPK
  • Multiplexing Broadcast through Terrestrial System is served by LPP TVRI and LPS, which have to follow open access and non-discriminary principles
Indonesia DVB-T2
Indonesia DVB-T2

Indonesia DVB-T2 Digital area

Digital area of Communication and Information Ministry Regulation Number 32 Year 2013:

  • Developed Economy Area 1: Jakarta, West Java, Central Java, and East Java initial Q1 2013
  • Developed Economy Area 2: Banten, Yogyakarta, Riau Islands initial Q1 2013 and North Sumatra, East Kalimantan initial Q1 2014
  • Developed Economy Area 3: Aceh initial Q1 2014, and West Sumatra, Riau, South Sumatra, Lampung, Bali,South Sulawesi, North Sulawesi initial Q3 2014, Jambi, West Kalimantan, Central Kalimantan initial Q4 2014, and Bengkulu, Bangka Belitung, Maluku initial Q1 2015
  • Less Developed Economy Area 4: West Nusa Tenggara, East Nusa Tenggara, West Sulawesi, Southeast Sulawesi, Central Sulawesi, South Kalimantan initial Q4 2014 and West Papua, North Maluku, Gorontaloinitial Q1 2015
  • Less Developed Economy Area 5: Papua initial Q1 2015

Indonesia DVB-T2 broadcasters

Up to August 2012, TVRI is the solely broadcaster that broadcast digital television in Jakarta, Bandung, Surabaya and Batam. TVRI has 376 analog transmitters which 30 of it are compatible and ready to be switched to digital.

At end of September 2012, Metro TV has initial broadcast digital television in:

  • Jakarta
  • Bandung
  • Semarang
  • Surabaya
  • Malingping, Padeglang, Anyer and Cilegon in Banten Province

Indonesia DVB-T2 Set Top Box